The Paloma Dresser & thoughts on living well ❤️

  
Happy Sunday! It’s my favourite day of the week. I love endings & new beginnings, which is how I think of Sunday. I usually take time to sit down, relax, and reflect on the week past, and dream about fun things in the week to come ❤️ 

I feel humbled & grateful that I love Sunday because I didn’t always. It used to mean the weekend was over, and I dreaded Monday. Have you ever felt like that? I made a decision 4 years ago to STOP living like that, and create a life I couldn’t wait to wake up to. Now, I’m at a stage where I’m living a life I love and I’m actively in the process of creating more of what I love. It took me a while to understand that happiness doesn’t come about from the external (i.e.: thinking once I have X, Y or Z, then I’ll be happy) it actually comes from inside. The happier I feel, the more happiness comes my way. It’s the law of attraction! So, I spent a lot of time figuring out what I truly love love love in the here and now, and spend as much time possible actually doing it, bringing about feelings of happiness. Hot bubble baths, time by the ocean with my dogs, tea & homemade sweets with my friends, coffee with my partner every morning, a new can of paint, etc, etc.,.. Once on that “happiness” frequency the universe automatically sends more of what’s being put out. Simple but true. And insanely effective. Month on month, year after year, the wrong doors closed & the right windows opened and this path has been unfolding since. Now I adore Sunday’s ❤️ What do you love doing?

What I love doing most is creating beautiful furniture art. I feel totally in my groove as a human being when I sit in front of a beautiful piece of wood with my paint brush. My mission is to add value to others by creating beautiful pieces that create a space that brings about feelings of joy, peace and love. Happiness creates more happiness, after all!

The Paloma dresser gives me that feeling. It’s a solid pine dresser that looked like this before:  

 It’s a fairly big dresser that has nice  details you couldn’t see because they got lost in the darkness of the uniform, not-so-nice stain. It was just a big, dark, functional box in our room and I knew it needed lightening up. 

Paloma is a greyish color with a warm beige (almost mauve) undertone. I’ve been wanting to use it, but unsure how. Then I saw this photo of a chest by Somewhat Quirky Design and I had my inspiration! They paired Annie Sloan’s Old White over-top with a stunning result.   

I rarely use stencils & this was no different. I chalked on some lines & painted the stems free-hand in Old White. It took about 4 hours. It’s sooooooooo therapeutic. I paint sitting cross-legged on my floor & since I got lost in what I was doing I didn’t notice the kink in my hip & neck and I paid for that for a few weeks after 😉  

 I painted the trim of each drawer in Old White, too.   
And dry brushed the frame, particularly the crown on top & bottom: 

Before dry brushing
  

After dry brushing
 
I left the feet natural

 

I put the original hardware back on & it looked great! A pop of dark chocolate set it off beautifully, I think.    
 The beauty of Annie Sloan’s chalk paint and old furniture is that sometimes you don’t know how it will take to distressing. I love that. The piece “knows” just what to do all on its own to be at its best. This piece delivered a very rare effect (usually found in milk paint) known as chipping -hard to recreate unless you come by it honestly. I was delighted! It means the paint naturally flecked off in chunks here & there, creating an authentic distressed look. 
Voilà!

   
 

    
   

  

   

I’ll post for sale later today 😊

Thanks so much for stopping by!!! See you next time, when I’ll know more about a potential retail space -my appointment’s on Wednesday! Eeeeeek. 

XO Terri
  

2 thoughts on “The Paloma Dresser & thoughts on living well ❤️

Leave a Reply

